Lawyers pick up seats in the Florida Legislature

first_img December 1, 2000 Gary Blankenship Senior Editor Regular News Lawyers pick up seats in the Florida Legislature Lawyers pick up seats in the Florida Legislature Senior Editor At least 21 attorneys, two in the Florida Senate and 19 in the House, were chosen by Florida voters as state legislators in balloting November 7.The results mean, according to unofficial Bar figures, that for the 2000-2002 session there will be 29 attorneys in the House, since 10 were unopposed or won their seats in the first or second primary. That’s two more than the 1998-2000 term. For the Senate, there will be 13 lawyers serving, six who were in the middle of their terms, five who were unopposed and the two elected on November 7 — the same as in the 1998-2000 session.In state Senate races, lawyers won two of the four races they were in.In District 5, former Eighth Circuit State attorney and Democrat Rod Smith defeated Republican Dr. Bob Casey, a former state representative, 57 to 43 percent. In District 13, former state Rep. Victor Crist, a Republican, defeated attorney Kathy Castor 52 to 48 percent.In District 31, former state Rep. Debby P. Sanderson, a Republican, defeated attorney and Democrat John Gillespie 53 to 47 percent. And in District 35, attorney and incumbent Sen. Tom Rossin defeated Republican David Vaughan 61 to 35 percent. A Reform Party candidate garnered almost 5 percent in that race.According to an unofficial tally (it is possible some Bar member candidates were overlooked), Bar members were involved in 24 House races on the November ballot, and won 19 of those contests. (In one contest, both candidates were lawyers.)In District 5, Democrat and attorney Roy Lake was defeated by Republican Roy Brown 33 to 67 percent. In District 9, attorney and Democrat Loranne Ausley defeated Republican Manny Joanos 56 to 44 percent. In District 21, attorney and Republican Joe H. Pickens defeated Democrat Skeet Alford 56 to 44 percent. In District 24, attorney and Democrat Judy Johnson was defeated by Dennis K. Baxley 41.5 to 58.5 percent.In District 33, attorney and Speaker-designate Tom Feeney, a Republican, defeated Democrat Glenda Conley 59.5 to 40.5 percent. In District 36, Republican Allen Trovillion defeated attorney and Democrat Alana Brenner 51.5 to 48.5 percent. In District 37, attorney and Republican David Simmons defeated Democrat Ali Shahnami 70 to 30 percent.In District 40, Democrat and attorney Stuart Buchanan was defeated by Republican Andy Gardiner 45.5 to 54.5 percent. In District 41, attorney and Democrat Ali Kirk Mashayekhi was defeated by Republican incumbent Randy Johnson 32 to 68 percent. In District 48, attorney and Republican incumbent Gus Michael Bilirakis defeated Chris Gregg, with no party affiliation, 79.5 to 20.5 percent.In District 49, attorney and Republican incumbent Larry Crow defeated Democrat Sue Humphreys 52 to 48 percent. In District 62, attorney and Republican incumbent Johnnie B. Byrd, Jr., defeated Democrat John Wayne Clark 66 to 34 percent. In District 63, attorney and Republican Dennis A. Ross defeated Democrat Coy W. Castleberry 65 to 35 percent.In District 71, attorney and Republican Jerry Paul defeated a write-in candidate with nearly 100 percent of the vote. In District 73, attorney and Republican incumbent Bruce Kyle defeated attorney Maria Lara Peet, 62 to 38 percent (in apparently the only general election race where both candidates were lawyers). In District 74, attorney and Republican Jeff Kottkamp defeated a write-in candidate with nearly 100 percent of the vote.In District 82, attorney and Republican Joe Negron defeated a write-in candidate with nearly 100 percent of the vote. In District 85, attorney and Democrat incumbent Lois J. Frankel defeated Republican Cheryle A. Carpenter 63 to 37 percent.In District 92, attorney and Democrat John P. “Jack” Seiler defeated Republican Stephen M. Greep, Jr., 60.5 to 39.5 percent. In District 96, attorney and Democrat incumbent Stacy Ritter defeated Republican Joseph Kaufman 68.5 to 31.5 percent. In District 106, attorney and Democrat Dan Gelber defeated Mike Calhoun, with no party affiliation, 85 to 15 percent.In District 108, attorney and Democrat Philip J. Brutus defeated Republican Reginald Thompson 82 to 16 percent, with a third candidate getting 2 percent. In District 117, attorney and Republican incumbent Carlos Lacasa defeated a write-in candidate with nearly 100 percent of the vote. In District 119, attorney and Democrat Cindy Lerner defeated Republican Tom David 51 to 49 percent.last_img

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *