UWF Men’s and Women’s Golf Teams To Play in the NSU Shark Invitational

first_img Share Oct. 11, 2007PENSACOLA, Fla. – Starting Monday, October 14, Nova Southeastern University will host the NSU Shark Invitational at the PGA National Resort & Spa in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla. The annual event has become one of the premier Division II golf tournaments, bringing together the top teams in the nation. This year seven top ten women’s teams will participate, while six top 25 men’s teams will be in competition for the title.This year’s 15 team men’s field includes defending NCAA Division II national champion, and current #12 nationally ranked Barry University, along with host Nova Southeastern at #5, West Florida at #6, Florida Southern at #9, Valdosta State at #11, and Barton College at #18, in the latest golfstat.com head-to-head rankings. Also participating will be defending NSU Shark Invitational champion Eckerd College, #31 University of Indianapolis, #38 Lynn University, #42 Florida Tech, Division I Florida Atlantic, and three NAIA Teams, Embry-Riddle, Northwood (FL) and Johnson and Wales.The men will play 36 continuous holes on Monday, October 15th, beginning at 8:30 am on the 6,806 yard, par 72, Haig course, before playing the final18 final holes at 8:30 am on Tuesday, October 16th. West Florida’s Kyle Scott and Tobias Rosendahl previously finished 1st and 2nd at The McLaughlin Invitational, hosted by St. John’s. Scott won the event at 10 under par, while Tobias was second at five under par. Scott and Matthew Galloway tied for 14th overall at the Hartford Hawks Invitational, while Federico Damus had a 9th place finish at The McLaughlin.This year’s 18 team women’s field includes defending NCAA Division II national champion Florida Southern, along with current #1 nationally ranked Rollins College, #3 Barry University, host #4 Nova Southeastern, #6 Lynn University, #7 University of Indianapolis, #8 Ferris State, #14 West Florida, and #18 St. Edward’s University. Other Division II schools in competition will be #29 Central Oklahoma, #52 Armstrong Atlantic, Eckerd College, Florida Tech, and Flagler College. Non Division II schools will be Birmingham-Southern (D-I), Daytona Beach C.C (CC), Embry-Riddle (NAIA) and Northwood (NAIA).The women will play 18 holes on Monday, October 15th at 8:30 am on the 6,000 yard, par 72, Squire course, before playing their final 18 holes at 8:30 am on Tuesday, October 16th. West Florida’s Bhavna Shetty has one tournament victory under her belt this year, as she won the Bubba Watson Invitational. Shetty had another top ten finish, when she finished 7th at the Drury Shootout. Tara Steakin, Natalia Espinosa, and Rachel Christ all recorded top ten finishes at the Bubba Watson Invitational. Meaghan Gulliksen had a strong 17th place finish at the Flagler Fall slam. Print Friendly Version UWF Men’s and Women’s Golf Teams To Play in the NSU Shark Invitationallast_img

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *