first_img“It will be a good fight against Mumbai. We are a very “It will be a good fight against Mumbai. We are a very good bowling team and a young bunch of batsmen. Its good for us,” said Ojha ahead of the game. Mumbai, on the other hand, have quite a few, including Tare himself, to watch out for. Shreyas Iyer is very close to national selection and another top performance after his run-spree in Ranji (1321 runs at 78 per innings) would be very difficult for the selectors to ignore. Opener Akhil Herwadkar has accumulated 879 runs with his calm approach while Tare has scored 569 runs to go with his new record of 48 victims behind the stumps. In bowling, the medium pacers have been in the forefront with Shardul Thakur, who had impressed at the same Brabourne Stadium for Board Presidents XI against the visiting South Africa in a pre-Test warm up game, Dhawal Kulkarni and Balwinder Singh Sandhu playing a big part in the title triumph. The fact that Mumbai have not won the Irani title since 1997-98 would be an extra motivating factor too. “We achieved our goal of this season to win the Ranji Trophy but its history. What matters is what lies ahead and what lies ahead is a very important match again ? the Irani Cup which is very historical tournament and which matters a lot to us. So we are geared up again and we have prepared well,” said Tare today. “Yes, we know its been a long time since Mumbai has won Irani Cup. So, it is a good challenge for us and good motivation to do something special again in this match,” he added. Rival squads (from): Mumbai: Aditya Tare (Capt.), Abhishek Nayar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Akhil Herwadkar, Siddhesh Lad, Sufiyan Shaikh, Nikhil Patil (Jr.), Iqbal Abdullah, Shardul Thakur, Balwinder Singh Sandhu (Jr.), Badre Alam, Bhavin Thakkar, Vishal Dabholkar, Jay Bista. Rest of India: K S Bharat, Faiz Fazal, Karun Nair, Sheldon Jackson, Naman Ojha (Capt.), Stuart Binny, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jayant Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Krishna Das, Sudeep Chatterjee, Ian Dev Singh, Akshay Wakhare, Ankit Rajpoot, Anureet Singh. PTI SSR ARS SSC SSC BASadvertisementlast_img

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *